Indian Independence Day 2019 – Independence Day of India on 15 August is the 73rd

Happy Indian Independence Day 2019! As per the mandate by Lord Mountbatten, the British parliament was instructed to transfer the power by June 30, 1948. Though Lord Mountbatten had claimed that he would see to it that there is no bloodshed, the way things unfolded proved him wrong. He later justified it by saying, “wherever colonial rule has ended, there has been bloodshed. That is the price you pay.”

On July 4, 1947, following Mountbatten’s inputs, the Indian Independence Bill was introduced in the British House of Commons. It was passed within a fortnight, and accounted for the end of the British rule in India on August 15, 1947. It also provided with the establishment of two different Dominions of India and Pakistan, which were allowed to secede from the British Commonwealth.

Shortcut Links Of this Content:

India Independence Day 2019 Picture & Photos:


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *